Home School News 21st Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards

21st Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards

Photo Credit: www.latimes.com
Photo Credit: www.latimes.com

On Saturday, January 18th the 21st annual Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards were announced. Over the years, the SAG Awards have become one of the most prestigious awards, presenting thirteen awards for acting in films and tv shows. Actress Lupita Nyong’o and Actors Chiwetel Ejiofor and Michael Fassbender from 12 Years a Slave were all nominated for awards. However, only Lupita Nyong’o recieved an award which was the award for female actor in a supporting role, beating out Jennifer Lawerence, Oprah Winfrey, June Squibb and Julia Roberts. American Hustle only received two nominations but won the award for most outstanding performance by a cast in a motion picture. Matthew McConaughey received the award for outstanding performance by a male actor in a leading role for his role in Dallas Buyers Club. He killed two birds with one stone in this role because he also won a Golden Globe Award for the same role the week before. Other winners include Ty Burrell from Modern Family,Helen Mirren from Phil Spector, Michael Douglas from Behind the Candelabra, and Maggie Smith from Downton Abbey. The show, Modern Family, won best ensemble in a comedy series, marking the fourth year in a row the show has won the award.